How I Became a Vet Nurse in the UK

Meet Sophie:

Back when I was in primary school, a girl and I would often say “when we are older, we want to work in a vets”, she as a vet and I as a vet nurse. I never once had any desire to be the vet.

The many pets we had at home (countless fish, bird, hamster, rabbits, cat, and dogs) when I was growing up, gave me an insight into how incredible and fun animals are.

I always was (and still am) the one secretly routing for the animal to survive in the film. This is not to say I dislike people – the vulnerability of any species hits me right in the feels, but the voiceless ones do even more so.

To have a job that primarily involves animals, and more importantly, helps them, greatly attracted me.

A black cat with a white patch on her chest
Our Cleo
A brindle cairn terrier
Our Bob
A portrait of a wheaten cairn terrier
Our Timmy

A week after sitting my GCSE exams, I wasted no time and posted a letter to every veterinary practice in Merseyside (UK), enquiring whether they trained veterinary nurses, and if any position was available.

Each day over the next several weeks, I was on tenterhooks waiting for the postman to arrive (always late in the afternoon in our area!) with news.

Most practices replied with a polite no and recommended I gain animal experience to give myself an advantage for future trainee positions, as competition is high.

Fast forward to the part where I qualified as a hairdresser (no, I won’t highlight your hair), I then studied for six months to become a mental health nurse. But I still wasn’t happy with what I was doing as a career.

Something was missing… animals.

Having now developed invaluable skills and a clear understanding of what I must do, I decided to fully commit myself to pursuing my childhood dream job.

I was happy doing any animal-related job, but obviously, qualifying as a vet nurse was the ultimate goal. And that’s exactly what I aimed for at first.

Thanks to the internet, I discovered the regulatory body for vets in the UK: the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS), and used their website as a good source for correct, up-to-date information.

I narrowed my search down and only sent letters out to RCVS-approved training practices in Merseyside, Lancashire, and Cheshire – Now that I could drive, I expanded my field much further than the previous time.

In total, I got invited to three interviews but only attended two of them, as after a trial day at the practice I really wanted, I successfully secured a position there.

I was 19 years old and extremely lucky.

My training practice was a small-animal-only clinic based in Merseyside, spread over two branches.

I was employed full-time and would gain my Level 3 Diploma in Veterinary Nursing (Small Animal) at Myerscough College, Lancashire.

I really landed on my feet there; a short commute, no out-of-hours work, college enrollment within the same year (first few months spent in practice), and the practice paid the course fees.

I signed a contract to work there for one year post qualification and if I broke this, I would have to pay back the course fees in full.

The balance of work, college once a week, and study was tough but achievable.

Hey, if you want something so much, you will gladly get your head down and just do the work.

I enrolled in college in 2008 and had to complete a practice-based competency portfolio and a communication assignment, as well as pass theoretical and practical exams over two years.

From what I hear now, we were some of the lucky ones!

Fortunately, I passed my assignment and all theory exams on the first attempt. It was just the portfolio that lagged behind a little. Once that, too, was completed, I sat my practical exams, which I also passed on the first try.

I was now a fully qualified veterinary nurse in 2011… Yipee!

An RCVS Qualified Vet Nurses' badge
of St Francis of Assisi, The patron saint of animals
My RCVS nurses’ badge with
St. Francis of Assisi- the patron saint of animals

As my one-year post-qualification stint working at my training practice was drawing to an end, in walks Chrissy, a locum vet nurse.

She told me that there’s a big veterinary world out there and that for me to develop my skills as a nurse, I would need to leave this place.

And she was right.

I signed up with a few locum agencies and was inundated with job offers from the word go and from all over.

After a couple of weeks, I secured a full-time, six-month contract at a charity hospital in Merseyside.

This was when I became a veterinary nurse. I ended up signing a permanent contract and stayed for four glorious years until I left to go travelling. It was bittersweet.

While travelling in Asia, no stray dog or cat came near me without a stroke or a smoochie word.

For a couple of days, I volunteered at Bali Animal Welfare Association (BAWA) in Ubud, Bali, walking their many stray dogs.

I was dying to pop an intravenous catheter into a juicy, cephalic vein!

Bali Animal Welfare Association
(BAWA) logo
Website

After returning from travelling, I went straight back to work as a self-employed, locum vet nurse.

Locum agencies found work for me very easily, and in total, I worked at four corporate practices, spread over many branches.

I enjoyed my year locumming because I developed new nursing skills, I got to see how other practices are run, and I made a bunch of new friends.

Towards the end of my locum period, Heidie, a locum vet I met at a practice, invited me to join her as a volunteer at a cat neutering clinic in Ithaca, Greece.

We had a great time; although I’m sure the cats would disagree (soz!).

A volunteer vet nurse holding a tiny stray kitten at a cat neutering clinic in Ithaca, Greece
At the clinic (this one was too small to be neutered)
Crystal clear waters at a beach in Ithaca, Greece
Our days off were spent exploring the beautiful island

I returned to the charity practice I left just before I went travelling but at a different hospital this time.

It was nice to work with some familiar faces and be crazy busy again.

There I stayed for 18 months until, in December 2019, I left to settle in Greece and travel with my boyfriend when we can.

A girl holding a small stray kitten on Syros Island in Greece
A stray kitten in Syros, Greece

As of now, I am sitting in a café in Athens, Greece, creating this blog and advertising myself as a dog walker for income.

I always remember to keep the animals close by.

You can catch me on social media:

Further posts…

A Vet Nurse’s Career Spanning 4 Decades

Meet Judith: My career in veterinary nursing began on Monday, 1st December 1980, when I secured a job as a trainee “animal nurse” at a Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (RSPCA) hospital in London, UK.…

10 Different Ways to Volunteer to Gain Animal Experience

The veterinary world is certainly a competitive one. As well as having the required qualifications, some veterinary employees look for applicants with animal experience. Looking after your own pet may not be enough! It is actually a university requirement…

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started