A Vet Nurse Making Memorial Jewellery

Briony started her journey towards becoming a veterinary nurse in 2005 and became registered in 2015. At present, Briony is out of practice. She is a fully qualified pet bereavement counsellor who makes bereavement jewellery. 

A memory keepsake ring from Marshall Memories with sunflowers in the background as decorations.
Ring

Meet Briony:

During my time in practice, I always wanted to go that step further for grieving clients, whether that be for a shoulder to cry on or by giving them my time. However, this was not always possible due to having little staff or a heavy workload. I wanted to give that extra bit of care and attention as well as help build client relations.

After losing my beloved pony and my mum, I felt like my world had come crashing down. Both passings were sudden and unexpected. I struggled to get through each day. I just wanted a friendly face and some form of comfort.

I tried to go back to work but work found my grief too hard to deal with, and in the end, I was bullied out of my job. This only made matters worse for me. 

About a year later, I had an idea to make a charm bead to put my late pony’s hair, and so I did. I took to my creative side and ordered a resin kit. After a few weeks of playing with it, I found it took my mind off things in the real world.

I then ended up making another one with my mum’s hair inside this time. I find wearing them brings me great comfort. I have them close to me always and it especially helps on bad days.

A memory keepsake charm bead from Marshall Memories with sunflowers in the background as decorations.
Resin charm bead

This made me think: if this helps me, why wouldn’t it help others?

And so in 2019, I created Marshall Memories. The name Marshall Memories, to be honest, just kind of slipped out. My surname is Marshall and the memories are what I do with the items. I help preserve them and so the name seemed fitting.

I’ve always been fairly crafty. I love drawing and painting. My mum was artful too so she inspired me through my grief for her and through her talents of being able to turn her hand at most crafts to do this. This craft I’ve taught myself. And it was something new that I’d always wanted to try.

A memory keepsake pendant from Marshall Memories
Keyring

Six months later, I qualified as a bereavement counsellor. My journey to becoming a pet and human bereavement counsellor was all done online. Because I had experienced recent losses, I had a great understanding of the course and those I would be helping.

I went for counselling after the loss of my mum and found it to be ineffective. However, looking back now, I can see it was because the counsellor had no personal experience of loss.

My role as a counsellor involves me being there for someone to talk to. I don’t tell people that their emotions are wrong or that they shouldn’t be feeling the way they do. I understand that everyone’s grief is different.

I’m here to listen and offer whatever sound advice I can. Bringing a smile or a happy tear to someone makes all the hard work worthwhile. I offer my council alongside my jewellery making.

A memory keepsake paperweight from Marshall Memories with sunflowers in the background as decorations.
Paperweight

Helping people through a time of sadness and grief gives me a feeling of self-worth. And in the long run, we are healers for each other. I find my items bring great comfort after a loss.

Being a counsellor helps, as it enables me to connect with my customers. Knowing the background, a story or even a memory helps my customers to share things. And it also helps me to create that special and unique item for them. 

I do miss being in veterinary practice. I miss providing care to the animals and dealing with my regular clients in the clinics I used to run. I was good at my job.

However, I find making these pieces of jewellery more rewarding as I truly feel appreciated by all my wonderful customers. Now that I’m away from practice, I’m my own boss and I can give my full attention to my customers.

If I had been a qualified bereavement counsellor in practice, I would have pushed more for client aftercare. And in theory, the practice may have gone for it with this qualification. 

A memory keepsake ring from Marshall Memories
Ring

I still work with many nurses and vets by offering my time when I can. We have remained good friends. I ask them to advertise my business and my role as a counsellor should a person require someone to talk to or a helping hand.

Marshall Memories is run solely by me. I am completely self-taught. I work at our home where I also look after our young daughter and care for our ponies and miniature stud. Working from home gives me the perfect opportunity to be a stay-at-home mum with my baby girl. I get to enjoy time with her as well as helping others with their grief.

I’m based in the heart of Derbyshire in the famous town of Bakewell (yes, famous for the puddings!).

Each item can contain hair and/or ashes from loved ones. I have also made items with inclusions of fur, teeth, fibres, hedgehog quills, scales, claws etc. Anything is possible! I am happy to use all special items of sentimentality, too. 

A memory keepsake earrings from Marshall Memories
Earrings

All items are bespoke and handmade of the finest quality sterling silver. With a huge range of colours and semi-precious stones including the rare Blue John Stone.

I’m lucky enough to be friends with the owner of Treck Cliff Cavern in Castleton, where the Blue John Stone is sourced. We help one another out with advertising too.

I have various suppliers for my products; some online, some I make, others like the flowers I grow and press myself.

I have a collection of amazing silversmiths I work with, and they are always happy to take on my new ideas or create custom orders for customers.

Items are made with love, care and compassion throughout the entire process. The making process for each piece of jewellery is different. It depends on the item and the design chosen or requested.

I’m always up for a challenge and happy to do whatever satisfies my customers. So far I’ve had great pleasure in helping others, and I believe they have helped me too.

You can visit my website and FB page to browse through my collection or if you wish to connect me.

A memory keepsake sterling silver necklace from Marshall Memories with sunflowers in the background as decorations.
Necklace

Further posts…

A Vet Nurse Working in Oman

Sarah is a qualified registered veterinary nurse (RVN) for six years. She has been in practice for thirteen years and has experience in first opinion, emergency critical care (ECC) and referral nursing. Her particular interest is in surgical nursing.…

A Vet Nurse Volunteering at a Wildlife Centre in Malawi, Africa

Nicole qualified as a registered veterinary nurse (RVN) from Harper Adams University in October 2019. She currently works in one of the UK’s leading charity hospitals while studying for her graduate certificate in anaesthesia. Eventually, once she has gained…

Coby – The Golden Doodle Assistance Dog

Dog A.I.D (assistance in disability) is a charity helping physically disabled people train their pet dog to become their fully qualified assistance dog. Hi! I’m Talya, a student veterinary nurse hoping to qualify this summer, and this is my…

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started